Description : In short run, if a competitive firm incurs losses, it will - (1) stop production. (2) continue to produce as long as it can cover its variable costs. (3) raise price of its product. (4) go far advertising campaign.
Last Answer : (1) stop production. Explanation: In the short run, a firm that is operating at a loss (where the revenue is less that the total cost or the price is less than the unit cost) must ... will shutdown if the sale of the goods or services produced cannot even cover the variable costs of production.
Description : If a firm is operating at loss in the short-period in perfect combination, it should : (1) decrease the production and the price. (2) increase the production and the price (3) continue to operate as long as it covers even the variable costs. (4) shut-down and leave the industry
Last Answer : continue to operate as long as it covers even the variable costs.
Description : If a firm is operating at loss in the shortperiod in perfect combination, it should : (1) decrease the production and the price. (2) increase the production and the price (3) continue to operate as long as it covers even the variable costs. (4) shut-down and leave the industry
Last Answer : (3) continue to operate as long as it covers even the variable costs. Explanation: The demand for labour is "derived- from the production and demand for the product being demanded. If the demand ... price and production numbers are met. Labour is "derived" from the market demand for the product.
Description : In the short run if the price is above the average total cost in a monopolistic competitive market, the firm makes (a) Profits and new firms join the market ; (b) Profit and bar entry to new firms; (c) Makes losses and exit the market ; (d) Quick profit and disappears
Last Answer : (a) Profits and new firms join the market ;
Description : A firm should cease production in the short run if(a) Price is less than average fixed cost (b) Price is less than average cost (c) Profits are negative (d) Price is less than average variable cost
Last Answer : (d) Price is less than average variable cost
Description : Which of the following is a violation of the code of professional ethics for certified public accountants? a. A CPA permits his/her name to be used in a client's advertising as having ... the professional designation "CPA" after his name on posters employed in connection with his election campaign
Last Answer : Based on information obtained in an audit, a CPA reports an illegal act of his client to government authorities.
Description : A company makes a single product and incurs fixed costs of Rs. 30,000 per annum. Variable cost per unit is Rs. 5 and each unit sells for Rs. 15. Annual sales demand is 7,000 units. The breakeven point is: (a) 2,000 units (b) 3,000 units (c) 4,000 units (d) 6,000 units
Last Answer : (b) 3,000 units
Description : This strategy will concentrate on the Traditional and Low End segment. Competitive advantage will be gained by keeping R&D costs, Production costs, and raw materials costs to a minimum, ... Life Cycle Focus d. Differentiation Strategy with a Product Life Cycle Focus e. Broad Differentiation
Last Answer : b. Niche Cost Leader
Description : This strategy will allow us to maintain a presence in every market segment. Competitive advantage will be gained by keeping R&D costs, Production costs and raw material costs to a minimum, ... Life Cycle Focus d. Differentiation Strategy with a Product Life Cycle Focus e. Broad Differentiation
Last Answer : a. Broad Cost Leader
Description : If an industry is characterized by economies of scale then - (1) barriers to entry are not very large (2) long run unit costs of production decreases as the quantity the firm produces increases (3) ... of the large scale operation (4) the costs of entry into the market are likely to be substantial
Last Answer : (2) long run unit costs of production decreases as the quantity the firm produces increases Explanation: In microeconomics, economies of scale are the cost advantages that an enterprise obtains due to expansion ... in unit cost as the size of a facility and the usage levels of other inputs increase.
Description : If an industry is characterised by economies of scale then (1) barriers to entry are not very large (2) long run unit costs of production decreases as the quantity the firm produces increases (3) ... of the large scale operation (4) the costs of entry into the market are likely to be substantial
Last Answer : long run unit costs of production decreases as the quantity the firm produces increases
Description : Implicit costs are (a) equal to total fixed costs (b) comprised entirely of variable costs (c) payments for self-employed resources (d) always greater in the short run than in the long run
Last Answer : (c) payments for self-employed resources
Description : Marketers at Premier Brands want to determine the effects of a price increase on sales of Gourmet Dinners. In setting up an experiment, the dependent variable would be: A)production costs B)price C)advertising costs D)sales E)wholesale purchases
Last Answer : D)sales
Description : At "Break-even point", (1) the industry is in equilibrium in the long run. (2) the producers suffers the minimum losses (3) the seller earns maximum profit (4) the firm is at zero-profit point
Last Answer : (4) the firm is at zero-profit point Explanation: The break-even point (BEP) is the point at which cost or expenses and revenue are equal: there is no net loss or gain, and one has "broken even." For businesses, reaching the break-even point is the first major step towards profitability.
Description : At “Break-even point”, (1) the industry is in equilibrium in the long-run. (2) the producers suffers the minimum losses (3) the seller earns maximum profit (4) the firm is at zero-profit point
Last Answer : the firm is at zero-profit point
Description : In the long-run equilibrium, a competitive firm earns - (1) Super-normal profit (2) Profits equal to other firms (3) Normal profit (4) No profit
Last Answer : (3) Normal profit Explanation: Making the assumption that the market demand curve remains unchanged, higher market supply will reduce the equilibrium market price until the price = long run average cost. ... of firms in and out of the industry and a long-run equilibrium has been established.
Description : Given competitive conditions, a firm in the long run earn (a) Quasi-rent (b) Pure-rent (c) Normal profit (d) Economic profit
Last Answer : (c) Normal profit
Description : In the long-run equilibrium, a competitive firm earns (1) Super-normal profit (2) Profits equal to other firms (3) Normal profit (4) No profit
Last Answer : Normal profit
Description : Sales promotion is best defined as a(n) 1. activity and / or material used as a direct inducement to resellers, salespersons, or consumers 2. advertising and publicity campaign 3. cyclical activity ... effects on sales 4. activity and/or material used in personal selling 5. none of these
Last Answer : activity and / or material used as a direct inducement to resellers, salespersons, or consumers
Description : Sales promotion is best defined as a(n) A)activity and/or material used as a direct inducement to resellers, salespersons, or consumers. B)advertising and publicity campaign. C)cyclical activity aimed at producing short -run effects on sales. D)activity and/or material used in personal selling.
Last Answer : A)activity and/or material used as a direct inducement to resellers, salespersons, or consumers.
Description : If a firm shut down at a level when AVC > Price, the firm restricts its losses to (a) Total fixed cost ; (b) Average fixed cost ; (c) Variable cost ; (d) Average variable cost
Last Answer : (a) Total fixed cost ;
Description : This strategy attempts to gain a competitive advantage by keeping R&D costs, production costs and raw material costs to a minimum in order to compete on the basis of price. The product life ... Life Cycle Focus d. Differentiation strategy with a Product Life Cycle Focus e. Broad Differentiation
Last Answer : c. Cost Leader with Product Life Cycle Focus
Description : )If the average total cost is Rs.54, total fixed cost is Rs.45000 and quantity produced is 2500 units, find the average variable costs (in Rs.) of the firm - (1) 24 (2) 18 (3) 36 (4) 60
Last Answer : (3) 36 Explanation: The standard method of calculating average variable cost is to divide total variable cost by the quantity, illustrated by this equation : Average Variable Cost = Total Variable Cost/ Quantity of ... , Average Total Cost = 45000/2500 = 18 So Average Variable Cost = 54 - 18= 36
Description : If the average total cost is Rs. 54, total fixed cost is Rs. 45000 and quantity produced is 2500 units, find the average variable costs (in Rs.) of the firm : (1) 24 (2) 18 (3) 36 (4) 60
Last Answer : 36
Description : When the price is less than the average variable cost, the firm should . (a) Continue to operate till the market recover ; (b) Shut down its operation for the time being (c) Retrench ... compensation; (d) Clear the existing stock at a price less than the prevailing price to beat the competitors
Last Answer : (b) Shut down its operation for the time being
Description : Under perfect competition, the industry does not have any excess capacity because each firm produces at the minimum point on its - (1) long-run marginal cost curve (2) long-run average cost curve (3) long-run average variable cost curve (4) long-run average revenue curve
Last Answer : (2) long-run average cost curve Explanation: Under perfect competition, the firms operate at the minimum point of long-run average cost curve. In this way, the actual longrun output of ... ideal output. This gives the mea-sure of excess capacity which lies unutilized under imperfect competition.
Description : Under perfect competition, the industry does not have any excess capacity because each firm produces at the minimum point on its (1) long-run marginal cost curve (2) long-run average cost curve (3) long-run average variable cost curve (4) long-run average revenue curve
Last Answer : long-run average cost curve
Description : 7) DuPont implemented an expensive advertising campaign for Stainmaster carpet because the firm understood that if it could sell more carpeting the mills would buy more of its chemicals. DuPont demonstrated ... demand is often A)proportional. B)downward sloping. C)inelastic. D)derived. E)seasonal.
Last Answer : D)derived.
Description : In the short run an oligopolistic firm will (a) Make profits ; (b) Incur losses ; (c) Just break even ; (d) Any of these three are possible
Last Answer : (d) Any of these three are possible
Description : 3. S produces and sells one product, P, for which the data are as follows: Selling price Rs 28 Variable cost Rs 16 Fixed cost Rs 4 The fixed costs are based on a budgeted production and sales level of 25 ... period(a) 10.1% decrease (b) 11.2% decrease (c) 13.3% decrease (d) 16.0% decrease
Last Answer : (a) 10.1% decrease
Description : In the long run, M&M Mars must view __________ as the floor below which its chocolate bars cannot be priced. A)a 10 percent return on investment B)product development costs C)costs D)advertising expenditures E)Nestle's prices
Last Answer : C)costs
Description : Economies of a firm are : (1) An increase in its profits (2) A reduction in its selling expenses (3) Its dominance of the market (4) Saving in it's production costs
Last Answer : (4) Saving in it's production costs Explanation: Economics of a firm includes how it combines labour and capital so as to lower the average cost of output, either from increasing, decreasing, or constant returns ... of a good or a service on a larger scale, yet with (on average) less input costs.
Description : Economies of a firm are : (1) An increase in its profits (2) A reduction in its selling expenses (3) Its dominance of the market (4) Saving in it’s production costs
Last Answer : Saving in it’s production costs
Description : he non-expenditure costs which arise when the producing firm itself owns and supplies certain factors of production are - (1) Explicit costs (2) Original costs (3) Implicit costs (4) Replacement costs
Last Answer : (3) Implicit costs Explanation: In economics, an implicit is the opportunity cost equal to what a firm must give up in order to use factors which it neither purchases nor hires. It is ... instead of renting, selling or lending it. These are costs a business incurs without actually spending money.
Description : The non-expenditure costs which arise when the producing firm itself owns and supplies certain factors of production are (1) Explicit costs (2) Original costs (3) Implicit costs (4) Replacement costs
Last Answer : Implicit costs
Description : Which of the following best defines price discrimination? a. charging different prices on the basis of race b. charging different prices for goods with different costs of production c. charging ... a certain product of given quality and cost per unit at different prices to different buyers
Last Answer : d. selling a certain product of given quality and cost per unit at different prices to different buyers
Description : When marginal cost is equal to marginal revenue, the firm should A)produce more to increase profits. B)produce less to decrease total costs. C)stop producing additional units to maximise profits. D)provide discounts to encourage purchases.
Last Answer : C)stop producing additional units to maximise profits.
Description : If the fixed costs of a factory producing candles is Rs 20,000, selling price is Rs 30 per dozen candles and variable cost is Rs 1.5 per candle, what is the break-even quantity? (1) 20000 (2) 10000 (3) 15000 (4) 12000
Last Answer : (1) 20000 Explanation: Breakeven quantity is the number of incremental units that the firm needs to sell to cover the cost of a marketing program or other type of investment. It is given by the formula: BEQ = FC / (P-VC) Where ... per unit = 30/12 = Rs. 2.5 So 20000/ (2.5-1.5) = 20000/1= Rs. 20,000
Last Answer : 20000
Description : Suppose marketers at Renault need to determine the effects of an increase in the advertising budget on sales of the Clio. In setting up an experiment, the independent variable would be: A)sales B)price C)advertising expense D)production cost E)wholesale purchases
Last Answer : C)advertising expense
Description : ------ pricing is possible when a firm is able to reduce its manufacturing costs at a predictable rate through improved methods, materials, skills, and machinery. A)experience-curve B)price leader C)manufacturing based D)production-curve
Last Answer : A)experience-curve
Description : Deepak selling a product at 48% discount, he incurs a loss of 10%. The marked price of the product is 15000 Rs. At what percent discount he should sell the product so as to have a profit of 30%.
Last Answer : Mp=15000==>Sp= 15000*0.52= 7800. Loss of 10% is there==>Cp= 7800/ 0.90= RS.8666.66 Profit of 30% = 6000*1.15=11266.66 Discount should be Rs2600 Discount % should be {2600/15000}*100 =17.3%
Description : By selling a mobile at 52% discount, a seller incurs a loss of 8%. The marked price of the product is 18000 Rs. At what percent discount the seller should sell the mobile so as to have a profit of 33%.
Last Answer : Since, Marked Price = 18000 Therefore, Selling Price = 18000*0.48 = 8640 Loss of 8% is there Therefore, Cost price = 8640/0.92 = 9391.30Rs To have profit of 33% The Selling Price should be = 9391. ... should be 18000 - 12490.42 = 5509.58Rs Discount% should be [5509.58/18000]*100 = 30.60 ≈ 31%.
Description : Total profit of a firm in a perfect competitive market is – (a) Total revenue less total cost ; (b) Marginal revenue less marginal cost; (c) Total revenue less marginal cost ; (d) Total revenue less variable cost
Last Answer : (a) Total revenue less total cost ;
Description : In market-penetration pricing, the company's objective is to ________, believing that higher sales volume will lead to lower unit costs and higher long-run profits. A. Block competitive launches B. ... their market share C. Minimize their market share D. Maximize volume E. None of the above
Last Answer : B. Maximize their market share
Description : Realising that his new video game will be on the edge of contributing some profit in its second year, Gary lobbies hard to have the accounting department assign other projects in the firm ... . These costs are called __________ costs. A)fixed B)variable C)traceable common D)nontraceable common
Last Answer : D)nontraceable common
Description : An advertising campaign that tries to persuade people to avoid drinking and driving is an example of 1. service advertising 2. social marketing 3. campaign marketing 4. product advertising 5. none of these
Last Answer : social marketing
Description : A Bank airs a series of radio ads that claim "We are the listening bank." This campaign would be best described as __________ advertising. A)pioneer B)target C)product D)institutional E)comparative
Last Answer : D)institutional
Description : An advertising campaign that tries to persuade people to avoid drinking and driving is an example of: A)service advertising B)social marketing C)campaign marketing D)product advertising
Last Answer : B)social marketing
Description : In equilibrium, a perfectly competitive firm will equate - (1) marginal social cost with marginal social benefit (2) market supply with market demand (3) marginal profit with marginal cost (4) marginal revenue with marginal cost
Last Answer : (4) marginal revenue with marginal cost Explanation: A perfectly competitive firm's supply curve is that portion of its marginal cost curve that lies above the minimum of the average variable cost ... marginal cost curve. The marginal cost curve is thus the perfectly competitive firm's supply curve.